In Virginia, drunken driving charges are probably treated more severely than in any other state in the country. In fact, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), drunk – driving arrests in Virginia account for more than one – third of all traffic fatalities. For this reason, it’s essential to hire a lawyer to work on your case and develop the right defense strategy.
It’s important to remember that any amount of alcohol in your system can lead to an indictment and conviction. If the legal blood – alcohol limit is 8 pm, and the Commonwealth can prove that you were drunk, you can be arrested, passed the test and convicted. The duration depends on your BAC level. The longer the duration, the greater the likelihood of a conviction. For example, if your blood – alcohol level of 0.08 pm, you can be arrested and convicted for a maximum sentence of one year.
While each case is individual, clients often have difficulty understanding what a conviction would mean. Lawyers with experience dealing with such cases best address this problem. At our expense, customers who contact us after an arrest often ask general questions. Will I be probed for a criminal record? Will I have to pay for my attorney’s fees? We are here to listen to your concerns, answer your questions as much as possible, and guide you through this complex legal process. This is not a myth. We don’t treat these incidents like a car on a conveyor belt.
So that we can be fully committed to giving our customers the best possible view. We are available and we keep our hands abreast of the latest technology and best practices in the field.
When we hire, we behave. First of all, the Dunk penalty is still pretty harsh. When you hire us, you behave yourself.
If a person applies for a restricted driving license, he or she must be abiding by the requirements of the law for at least 10 years. If the previous sentence would have serious implications for subsequent sentences, you receive a suspended sentence. However, if a previous conviction is the third or subsequent conviction in 10 + years, the harsh penalties for the new conviction are imposed and the requirement for new convictions are attached and can be used to convert the offense from a misdemeanor to a felony.
What is Virginia’s “implicit consent” law? To really understand what Virginia’s’ implicit consent ‘law is, you must hear and read about it. In Virginia, driving without the explicit consent of a person in the presence of another person’s consent is considered to violate traffic rules. Consequently, if you refuse to take a sobriety test, you are likely to be punished with a charge. This makes it illegal to unjustifiably refuse a blood or breath sample taken to determine alcohol or drug content after being arrested for drunk driving. Blood and breath tests are carried out in Virginia, even if no drug use has ever been arrested.
The charge requires deprivation of your driver’s license for 1 year. Second and third refusals entail criminal liability and can often result in imprisonment. The punishment remains severe if you are considered a repeat offender of a blood or breathe sample or blood test violation.